Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: TheWorld Browser
Gladiator Security Forum > Computer Software & Hardware > Internet Related Software > Browsers
Terryala
TheWorld Browser

TheWorld Browser provides a fast, safe, and easy way to browse the Web. It will max out your internet experiences with many useful features than the others could ever offer. Give it a try, and we guarrentee that we will never ship our browser with mal-wares.

http://www.ioage.com/en/index.htm
Chachazz
The World Browser works with: Windows 98/ME/2000/XP/Vista

There is also a non-install file for (English) Windows 2000/XP /Vista :thumbup:
Whitecloud
I decided to try this Browser.. So I installed it.. Was setting it up, with up with one of the skins it supplies...

I was browsing through the browser, and I came across some built in live Links, one of them was Smiley Central and Askme.

No way do I want anything to do with ciao.gif Smiley Central.. So I removed TheWorld Browser..

I'll just stick to my good ole FF ..

Ron..
Hunter
Can you explain to us with these screenshots.. the details on just where and how you found the links and got to those sites.

Thanks ciao.gif
Whitecloud
I've experinced Smilie Central and all its Fun Web products quite awhile ago.. Its no fun removing them from the computer.. I also learned the hard way.. Grandsons..

Here is my screen shot.. Even though I removed TheWorld Browser.. When I reinstalled it just now, it remembered all the settings..


Hunter
OK..I see what you mean..thanks for your time and posting ciao.gif



TheWorld Browser looks like IE7, moves like IE7, uses almost the same amount of resources as IE7 but has additional options that any other browser will envy. The application is in RC1 stage so there is still work to be done. The chameleon looks allow TheWorld to turn its face into Opera 8, Safari, or Flock, to mention just a few of the skins you can download and install. The thing with installing plugins and skins is that they are automatically embedded in the interface and the user has only to push a button.


The list of plugins is currently pretty short, but the choices vary from RSS feed reader, system information (website ping speed, network bandwidth, IP or memory status), sticker, Google page rank, etc. These can be downloaded in an instant (the largest is 671KB, but most of them are under 70Kb in size) and the installation process is silent and automatic. The same goes for skins. They are automatically installed in the background and when the process is complete, you will be asked if you want to change the skin or not.


http://www.softpedia.com/reviews/windows/T...iew-51204.shtml
Hunter
Can you tell me which SKIN(S) you downloaded and installed into TheWorld Browser so we can check it out plese.

http://www.ioage.com/en/skin.htm

I guess most of them are third party thingies..and I see you can even get more at other sites not listed there.
Look like some partner= is trying to make some $$$ on his skin effort. OMG.gif
Terryala
OMG.gif

Looks like might be :

Name: Pinstripe

Author:Forum User(ID:vira)

Size: 135kb

But will wait and see.Certainly don't need anything like that riding peggy back on the Browser.

Have contacted World Browser about the problem so they will be aware of it...

Grand Dad
Hunter
Good work Grand Dad... friends.gif
Terryala
hello.gif

Answer I received:

"Hi, Terry

First, I promise you TheWorld Browser never add any Ad like this.
Second, as a browser, browser answer each browse request.
Third, the site in your picture, was a ad page by a adware.

I advice you install some anti-spyware, anti-adware software to check and
kill this adware.

Good luck!

Phoenix"

I did a follow up to Phoenix regards the live Links leading to those Web Sites. It would appear that they have no control over what is placed in the Skins presented for use?

They do seem to know that it is Adware. If that is the case they should warn people that their Skins contain Adware.

Will work with them as long as they respond to my E mails.

We might want to post a warning in World Browsr tread that some of their Skins contain Adware if problem not resolved.

Best

Terry
Whitecloud
QUOTE (Hunter @ Feb 8 2008, 03:44 PM) *
Can you tell me which SKIN(S) you downloaded and installed into TheWorld Browser so we can check it out plese.

http://www.ioage.com/en/skin.htm

I guess most of them are third party thingies..and I see you can even get more at other sites not listed there.
Look like some partner= is trying to make some $$$ on his skin effort. OMG.gif


I'm pretty sure from the Photo is it Pinstripe..
Terryala
This was my E mail to them:


Hi Phoenix

What I was trying to point out was that it appears that the Pinstripe Skin
you all have listed on your Skins page had the following included in its
live Links:

Smiley Central and Askme.

If this is true?

Will advise our members.

Thanks

Answer back:

No, we didn't put "smiley central and askme" ad page.
The page was popup by a adware.


Grand Dad


The Skin shown above appears to be their Default Skin:

Click to view attachment

This is Pinstripe:

Click to view attachment

I found no links to Smiley Central or Ask me with either one. Opened 25 of my links to see if anything would show up...Course I have Spyware Blaster and Spy Sweeper running in real time mode.

Under tools had this checked also:

Safe Guard

TheWorld Browser has a special built-in safe guard that will keep you out of dangers while surfing.

Also has Ad Filter:

Click to view attachment


GD
Hunter
And I have not seen any other postings or incidents on the Internet or Security Forum where TheWorld Browser has been associated with or the cause of Adware on a PC. So I suggest that Whitecloud search that PC for the cause of the delivery system of this adware. I think it came from other download sources.

TheWorld Browser 2.0.6.5 is a Web Browser product from ioage.com, get 4 Stars SoftSea Rating, TheWorld Browser is a small, fast, safe, strong, multi-tabbed browser for free use with no function limited. TheWorld Browser is base on the Microsoft Internet Explorer engine with additional features. It can work under Windows 98/Me/2000/XP. SoftSea.com had fully tested, reviewed and uploaded the install files, TheWorld Browser does not contain any adware or spyware, the latest version is 2.0.6.5, you can download this web browser software (481 KB) from special server of SoftSea.com. The license of this internet software is Shareware, you can free download and get a free trial before you buy. If you want to get a full or nolimited version of TheWorld Browser, you can buy this internet software.

http://www.softsea.com/review/TheWorld-Browser.html

Also anyone can submit any downloads including the skins or browser to these sites to test whether they do contain adware before they install them.

Just upload the file to these sites Before you install them. ciao.gif

http://virusscan.jotti.org/

http://www.virustotal.com/
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.